Q&A a Day For KidsFor Christmas, my mom gave me this cool new book. It’s called Q&A a Day For Kids. The jist of it is that every day you ask your kids a question and record their answer in the book. It includes space to record their answers for 3 consecutive years. So, for example, on January 8th I asked Joseph and Alex a question. Then on January 8th, 2014 and 2015 I ask them the same question and record their answers. Pretty sweet, huh?

Well, we’ve started this daily ritual at dinnertime. The boys love it. Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

  1. Always ask Alex the question first. Otherwise Joseph and Alex’s answers will be the exact same.
  2. Getting Joseph to pipe down while Alex works through his answer is nearly impossible.
  3. Seeing how their little brains comprehend questions that even I find tough to answer is amazing.
  4. This book would probably be better for kids over the age of 4. But we’re going to go with it for Alex anyway.
  5. Spending some time at the dinner table talking about things other than how many more bites we have to take is exhilarating!
  6. It’s fun to see a theme to their answers.
  7. It’s also fun to see how evident their personalities are in their answers, even at 3-and-a-half and almost 6.

So here are a few of the questions and answers we’ve covered so far:

January 2nd
Q: What is your favorite thing to do with friends?
A: Joseph, “I like to play with Preston downstairs with the monster trucks.” Alex, “Play cars.” {A man of few words; I love that about him.}

January 3rd
Q: What are you excited about?
A: Joseph, “I’m having my birthday soon.” {Good answer. Birthdays are awesome.} Alex, “Going to the store with Daddy.” {This was the night he got to go pick out a new toy for going a whole day without his pacifier. I’d be excited too!}

January 5th
Q: Describe a time when you were mad. {As the source of most of their anger, I was not looking forward to these answers.}
A: Joseph, “I was mad when I couldn’t go to Preston’s to go in the hot tub.” {Sensing a theme here??} Alex, “I knocked on the door.” (me, “what were you mad about?) “Momma.” {There it is.}

January 6th
Q: If you could take a trip anywhere in the world, where would you go?
A: Joseph, “I would go home and rest all day because that would be “belaxing,” maybe watch TV.” {This kid is awesome.} Alex, “I would go to the store – Target – because I play cars there.” {And there’s theme #2!}

January 7th
Q: What would you like to do but can’t do yet? (I added “because you are not a grown up” to get across the point of the question.)
A: Joseph, “Make the rules.” {Ha! Nice one. He’s a leader, though, that’s evident. Or a control freak like his mother.} Alex, “Drive a fire truck.” {yup.}

I can’t wait to see how their minds, outlooks, and responses change over the next 3 years. Thanks, Mom, for this awesome tool to document what might otherwise go unsaid and unexplored.

